4Gamer.net recently scored an interview with Shuhei Yoshida, president of Sony Computer Entertainment Worldwide Studios, and discovered that PS4 developers will be able to disable the PS4’s sharing capabilities inside their games. So, for example, if a developer doesn’t want you to see a video of an end boss or a secret area. They can prevent you from recording and sharing your playtime when you get to that point. It is unclear whether they can also block users from live streaming in the same fashion.
While this can be very useful for, say, exclusive press demos that developers don’t want leaked to the public, it also has the potential to be abused. If the last boss in a fighting game is blocked from live-streaming, the stream will drop out every time a player reaches the boss, which could be frequent if the player is talented. Additionally, final boss strategy videos are some of the most common gaming video searches on YouTube. Removing them defeats the purpose of a console with a built in share button.
Hopefully developers won’t be too hasty with their sharing strategies.
Source: Edge Online