DOOM Eternal Battle Mode Gets More Demonic
DOOM Eternal

A full DOOM Eternal Battle Mode reveal introduced people to a new kind of hell at QuakeCon 2019, and things look grim in the best possible way. First announced at E3 2019, Battle Mode pits a Slayer controlled by one person against two demons controlled by two other players. The Slayer’s goal is to defeat the demons, while the demons want to kill the Slayer. Now, we know even more about how that works.

There will be five DOOM Eternal Battle Mode demons at launch. These are the Arch-vile, Mancubus, Marauder, Pain Elemental and Revenant. Each one will play differently, and working with your fellow demon is key to surviving and getting the Slayer. Mancubuses are slow moving tanks that use heavy cannons and flame throwers for close range attacks, for example, while a Pain Elemental is a flying enemy with aerial attacks and a rechargeable Soul Shield. All demons can drop hazards to impair the slayer or summon AI demons like a Prowler. They also have a slow-charging skill that lets them temporarily block the Slayer’s recharging abilities and can see the Slayer’s outline through walls as long as the line of sight isn’t broken. 

The Slayer isn’t without tricks. This player has all guns, mods and equipment. It is possible to perform Glory Kills to restore health, chainsaw demons for extra ammo and torch demons for more armor. Each map has two portals, one at each end, that only the Slayer can use to try and flank enemies. It is also possible for a Slayer to traverse each map without touching the ground, as jump pads and monkey bars will be strewn throughout, though it will be necessary to land occasionally and recharge.

In addition to the DOOM Eternal reveal, it was a big day for other DOOM games. The Nintendo Switch, PS4, and Xbox One just received copies of DOOM, DOOM II, and DOOM 3, while iOS and Android devices got DOOM and DOOM II. These are available digitally in the eShop. DOOM has local four player co-op and deathmatch, as well as the Episode IV expansion. DOOM II has local four player co-op and multiplayer and its The Master Levels 20 extra levels. Finally, DOOM 3 gives people the original game and its Resurrection of Evil and Lost Missions expansions.

DOOM Eternal will be out on the Switch, PS4, Xbox One, and PC on November 22, 2019. More Battle Mode demons and maps will be added for free after launch.

Jenni Lada
Jenni Lada

Writing Team
Date: 07/26/2019

07/26/2019 12:20PM
blog comments powered by Disqus
"Like" CheatCC on Facebook